Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health announces the 2016 European PRRS Research Award

• A total of 75,000 euros to fund three research projects against PRRS
• Open for submissions until July 1st, 2016


Ingelheim, Germany, 1st February 2016 - Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health reinforces its commitment to support applied research for the improved control of PRRS (Porcine Reproductive and Respiratory Syndrome) in Europe. To continuously provide practical approaches to the management of the disease, Boehringer Ingelheim announces the 2016 European PRRS Research Award. This commitment will provide three grants of 25,000 euros each to fund research proposals that will generate new and practical information to better understand this devastating disease. PRRS virus infects pigs around the globe causing reproductive failure in breeding stock and respiratory tract illness in growing pigs. As a result, swine farmers worldwide have to cope with suffering and death cases among their animals together with an economic damage. Boehringer Ingelheim strives to find solutions to control PRRS.

European PRRS Research Award

The objectives of this initiative are to encourage research resulting in practical application of PRRS control strategies and the interaction among swine researchers and veterinarians as well as to enhance communication in the industry on practical PRRS control strategies and to reward research excellence.

Applications to submit research proposals can be made on The deadline for this year’s submissions is July 1st, 2016. Any person involved in the swine industry in Europe including Russia is eligible to submit proposals for consideration.

Each proposal will be reviewed by an independent review board of highly recognized swine industry professionals including researchers and practitioners:

Dr. Enric Mateu, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona (Spain)
Dr. Lars Erik Larsen, National Veterinary Institute DTU Vet (Denmark)
Dr. Giampietro Sandri, Gruppo Veronesi (Italy)
Dr. Albert Vidal, Vall Companys (Spain)
Dr. Tomasz Stadejek, Warsaw University of Life Sciences (Poland)
Dr. Michael Murtaugh, University of Minnesota (USA)

The independent review board will select proposals based on the criteria such as significance, potential for impact to the swine industry or originality and innovation.

The recipients of this year’s European PRRS Research Award will be announced on September 29th 2016.